left2Home | About | Rules | Judging Criteria | Awards | Links | SUBMIT MODULE | Samples| Contact     


Awards Summary

Awards will be given in each of 5 categories:

  • Parallel Architectures: Descriptions of parallel computers and how they operate, including particular systems (e.g. multi-core chips) and general design principles (e.g. building interconnection networks).

  • Parallel Programming Models and Languages: Abstractions of parallel computers useful for programming them efficiently, including both machine models (e.g. PRAM or LogP) and languages or extensions (e.g. OpenMP or MPI).

  • Parallel Algorithms and Applications: Methods of solving problems on parallel computers, from basic computations (e.g. parallel FFT or sorting algorithms) to full systems (e.g. parallel databases or seismic processing).

  • Parallel Software Tools: Tools for understanding and improving parallel programs, including parallel debuggers (e.g. TotalView) and performance analyzers (e.g. HPCtoolkit and TAU Performance System).

  • Accelerated Computing: Hardware and associated software can add parallel performance to more conventional systems, from Graphics Processing Units (GPUs) to Field Programmable Gate Arrays (FPGAs) to Application-Specific Integrated Circuits (ASICs) to innovative special-purpose hardware.

In each category, there will be a first prize of $500. At the judges’ discretion, other modules in the category may be identified for Honorable Mention. An on-line collection, which may be printed as a book, will highlight all modules that received either recognition.

***Please NOTE: Deadline has been extended***
- NEW DEADLINE for entry: March 18 , 2009, 5 p.m. -


If you would like to be put on a mailing list for updates and information about the
2008 Open Education Cup, please click HERE.